A moment I’m proud to be Scottish

Once in awhile something happens that brings a smile to your face and a happy tear down your cheek. In the terrible economic times going on in the world right now (with it being hit close to home since I found out yesterday that the bank came to my parent’s home Wednesday to take pictures and tell my parents they have 30 days to move out. Back story-my father does home-remodeling. He has his own one-man company which did well years ago during the housing boom, but has since lacked funding. Now my parents owe $7000. Not to mention my pregnant younger sister and her bf are also living at home with my parents).
Back to what I was saying though…
It’s so nice to see something that lifts my heart, and millions of others. Something that makes you forget all the terrible things going on. Something that reminds you that even when the world sees you as being little and having nothing at all, you can shock them.
d_susan_boyleSusan Boyle is my current hero. I first saw the video from Britain’s got Talent earlier this week. Since then I have seen the video on major news networks and across the web.

At work we talked about how people can be so calm and happy when things go wrong. An old co-worker of mine was asked by my boss how she is always so positive. Her response “When I was 22 I was diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer and was told I will never have children. After months of chemo and doctor visits I got the news my cancer was gone. Then I got pregnant and had my first child. After that I learned to not take anything in life lightly.”|
Amen to that. I always say that “The good Lord will never give you more than you can handle.”
With all these horrible things going on in the world, it’s nice to see someone out there with noone except her cat, someone who’s never been married or kissed, someone with nothing but a dream in a little village, go after what she’s always wanted…and gets exactly what she deserves.

Leave a comment

Filed under simple things

Leave a Reply

